KSARA

OUR LEGACY

legacy-image

rom its founding in 1857, Château Ksara Estate lives and grows through the core values of Tradition, Nobility, and Modernity. And as the country’s oldest winery, we have made it our mission to not only continue our unique, centuries-old practice of winemaking, but to also implement the newest and most innovative processes, and continue leading the winemaking in Lebanon for generations to come.

Words from Zafer Chaoui, CEO of Château Ksara

WINEMAKING SINCE 1857

Learn more about our historical milestones by selecting a date.

+ -
1857

LEBANON’S FIRST DRY WINE

Jesuit monks inherited and began farming a 25-hectare plot of land situated between Tanail and Zahle. Resident priest Father Kirn recognized the potential of Ksara’s terroir and convinced the other priests that it should be used to grow grapes for viticulture.

It was Kirn and his fellow monks who applied their agricultural knowledge and set out to produce Lebanon’s “first dry wine,” and with it, lay the foundation of Lebanon’s modern wine industry.

1857

LEBANON’S FIRST DRY WINE

Jesuit monks inherited and began farming a 25-hectare plot of land situated between Tanail and Zahle. Resident priest Father Kirn recognized the potential of Ksara’s terroir and convinced the other priests that it should be used to grow grapes for viticulture.

It was Kirn and his fellow monks who applied their agricultural knowledge and set out to produce Lebanon’s “first dry wine,” and with it, lay the foundation of Lebanon’s modern wine industry.

1898

DISCOVERY OF THE CAVES

A grotto dating back to the Roman era was unearthed.

Until then, good cellars had been hard to come by. When it became apparent that the caves were ideal for keeping wine at the correct temperature, the priests celebrated their good fortune. Château Ksara’s caves have played a central role in the success of the winery. At 2 kilometers long, they maintain a constant temperature and hygrometry throughout the year, providing the ideal conditions for the ageing of wines.

1898

DISCOVERY OF THE CAVES

A grotto dating back to the Roman era was unearthed.

Until then, good cellars had been hard to come by. When it became apparent that the caves were ideal for keeping wine at the correct temperature, the priests celebrated their good fortune. Château Ksara’s caves have played a central role in the success of the winery. At 2 kilometers long, they maintain a constant temperature and hygrometry throughout the year, providing the ideal conditions for the ageing of wines.

1902

THE REGION’S FIRST OBSERVATORY

The Middle East’s first observatory was established at Ksara so that the monks could record rainfall and seismic activity. The building, which was to become a strategic Bekaa landmark in times of both peace and war, would become the second Ksara landmark to have a wine. The Blanc de L’Observatoire was named in its honor.

1902

THE REGION’S FIRST OBSERVATORY

The Middle East’s first observatory was established at Ksara so that the monks could record rainfall and seismic activity. The building, which was to become a strategic Bekaa landmark in times of both peace and war, would become the second Ksara landmark to have a wine. The Blanc de L’Observatoire was named in its honor.

1973

PRIVATIZATION OF THE ESTATE

The Vatican encouraged its monasteries and missions around the world to sell off any commercial assets. By then, Château Ksara was producing 1.5 million bottles annually. But the monks’ success was now deemed to be at odds with their religious merit. Château Ksara was optioned to a consortium of local businessmen.

1973

PRIVATIZATION OF THE ESTATE

The Vatican encouraged its monasteries and missions around the world to sell off any commercial assets. By then, Château Ksara was producing 1.5 million bottles annually. But the monks’ success was now deemed to be at odds with their religious merit. Château Ksara was optioned to a consortium of local businessmen.

1991-1992

THE PLANTING OF NOBLE GRAPES

In 1991, Château Ksara planted noble grapes, namely Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, Sauvignon Blanc, Semillon, Chardonnay, and Merlot. No one – at least the local farmers – believed these grapes would survive in Bekaa’s relatively untested terroir, unaware that they would in fact grow and thrive to their fullest potential.

1991-1992

THE PLANTING OF NOBLE GRAPES

In 1991, Château Ksara planted noble grapes, namely Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, Sauvignon Blanc, Semillon, Chardonnay, and Merlot. No one – at least the local farmers – believed these grapes would survive in Bekaa’s relatively untested terroir, unaware that they would in fact grow and thrive to their fullest potential.

2007

THE 150th ANNIVERSARY

The winery celebrated its 150th anniversary just as it had begun a significant expansion program. To mark the occasion, the Estate created and released its most refined bottle of wine to date: Le Souverain.

2007

THE 150th ANNIVERSARY

The winery celebrated its 150th anniversary just as it had begun a significant expansion program. To mark the occasion, the Estate created and released its most refined bottle of wine to date: Le Souverain.

CERTIFICATES

Awards

Throughout its history, Château Ksara has been the recipient of numerous certifications and awards from competitions on an international scale.

You must be 18 years old to visit this site.

Welcome to the KSARA website. Please confirm your age.

- -

fbpx

KSARA

NOTRE HÉRITAGE

legacy-image

epuis sa création en 1857, Château Ksara vit et grandit à travers ses valeurs essentielles qui sont, la Tradition, la Noblesse et la Modernité. Étant le doyen des établissements vinicoles du pays, notre mission est non seulement de maintenir l’unique processus de vinification que nous pratiquons depuis des centaines d’années, mais aussi, de mettre en place les processus les plus récents et les plus novateurs, afin de continuer à diriger l’industrie vinicole du Liban pour les générations à venir.

Words from Zafer Chaoui, Chairman of Château Ksara

Vinification depuis 1857

Sélectionnez une date, pour en savoir plus sur nos moments historiques.

+ -
1857

PREMIER VIN SEC DU LIBAN

Les moines jésuites ont commencé à cultiver 25 hectares d’une terre qu’ils avaient hérités, située entre Taanayel et Zahlé. Le prêtre résident, Père Kirn, a vite réalisé l’énorme potentiel du terroir de Ksara et a convaincu les autres prêtres à cultiver des raisins pour la viticulture.

Kirn et les autres moines ont utilisé toutes leurs connaissances agricoles et se sont mis à produire le premier vin sec du Liban, tout en bâtissant les bases de l’industrie vinicole Libanaise.

1857

PREMIER VIN SEC DU LIBAN

Les moines jésuites ont commencé à cultiver 25 hectares d’une terre qu’ils avaient hérités, située entre Taanayel et Zahlé. Le prêtre résident, Père Kirn, a vite réalisé l’énorme potentiel du terroir de Ksara et a convaincu les autres prêtres à cultiver des raisins pour la viticulture.

Kirn et les autres moines ont utilisé toutes leurs connaissances agricoles et se sont mis à produire le premier vin sec du Liban, tout en bâtissant les bases de l’industrie vinicole Libanaise.

1898

DÉCOUVERTE DES CAVES

Une grotte datant de l’époque romaine fut déterrée.

Quand il devint évident que les caves étaient idéales pour garder le vin à température optimale, les prêtres célébrèrent leur trésor. Les caves de Château Ksara furent la pièce maitresse du succès de l’entreprise. Longues de deux kilomètres, elles maintiennent une température et hygrométrie constantes tout au long de l’année, fournissant les conditions idéales pour le vieillissement des vins.

1898

DÉCOUVERTE DES CAVES

Une grotte datant de l’époque romaine fut déterrée.

Quand il devint évident que les caves étaient idéales pour garder le vin à température optimale, les prêtres célébrèrent leur trésor. Les caves de Château Ksara furent la pièce maitresse du succès de l’entreprise. Longues de deux kilomètres, elles maintiennent une température et hygrométrie constantes tout au long de l’année, fournissant les conditions idéales pour le vieillissement des vins.

1902

LE PREMIER OBSERVATOIRE DE LA RÉGION

Le premier observatoire du Moyen Orient fut créé à Ksara, il permettait aux moines d’enregistrer les chutes de pluies ainsi que les activités sismiques. Ce bâtiment qui fut un repère stratégique de la Békaa en temps de paix et de guerre, devint le second monument de Ksara à avoir son vin. Le Blanc de L’Observatoire fut nommé en son honneur.

1902

LE PREMIER OBSERVATOIRE DE LA RÉGION

Le premier observatoire du Moyen Orient fut créé à Ksara, il permettait aux moines d’enregistrer les chutes de pluies ainsi que les activités sismiques. Ce bâtiment qui fut un repère stratégique de la Békaa en temps de paix et de guerre, devint le second monument de Ksara à avoir son vin. Le Blanc de L’Observatoire fut nommé en son honneur.

1973

PRIVATISATION DU DOMAINE

Le Vatican encouragea ses monastères à vendre tous leurs actifs commerciaux. A cette époque, Château Ksara produisait 1.5 millions de bouteilles par an. Mais le succès des moines fut jugé contraire aux croyances religieuses. Château Ksara fut alors cédé à un groupe d’hommes d’affaires.

1973

PRIVATISATION DU DOMAINE

Le Vatican encouragea ses monastères à vendre tous leurs actifs commerciaux. A cette époque, Château Ksara produisait 1.5 millions de bouteilles par an. Mais le succès des moines fut jugé contraire aux croyances religieuses. Château Ksara fut alors cédé à un groupe d’hommes d’affaires.

1991-1992

PLANTATION DES CÉPAGES NOBLES

En 1991, Château Ksara plante des cépages nobles, dont principalement Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, Sauvignon Blanc, Sémillon, Chardonnay, et Merlot. Aucun des habitants locaux ne crut que ces raisins pourraient survivre dans la Vallée de la Békaa, et furent en effet stupéfaits quand ils ont réalisé que ces vignes ont poussé dans les meilleures conditions.

1991-1992

PLANTATION DES CÉPAGES NOBLES

En 1991, Château Ksara plante des cépages nobles, dont principalement Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, Sauvignon Blanc, Sémillon, Chardonnay, et Merlot. Aucun des habitants locaux ne crut que ces raisins pourraient survivre dans la Vallée de la Békaa, et furent en effet stupéfaits quand ils ont réalisé que ces vignes ont poussé dans les meilleures conditions.

2007

LE 150ème ANNIVERSAIRE

Château Ksara célèbre son 150ème anniversaire au moment où la société entame un important programme d’expansion. Pour marquer l’occasion, Château Ksara créa et lança sa bouteille de vin la plus raffinée à ce jour: Le Souverain.

2007

LE 150ème ANNIVERSAIRE

Château Ksara célèbre son 150ème anniversaire au moment où la société entame un important programme d’expansion. Pour marquer l’occasion, Château Ksara créa et lança sa bouteille de vin la plus raffinée à ce jour: Le Souverain.

CERTIFICATIONS

PRIX

A travers son histroire, Château Ksara a reçu de nombreuses certifications et récompenses de concours à l'échelle internationale.

You must be 18 years old to visit this site.

Welcome to the KSARA website. Please confirm your age.

- -